A new year

05Feb11

Since the last time I blogged, a lot has happened and I’m really sorry I haven’t been around. First, OMG Vampire Diaries is back and Damon is back to being Damon. Argh!! Anywhoo a new school year will be starting soon for me and I am excited! Hopefully all will go well and it won’t end up like Gossip Girl (remember NYU and Georgina from season 3?)

This week has been a busy week, with Chinese New Year and visiting of relatives and all. But they are all the same, bragging about their child’s good grades, bragging about her handbag, bragging, bragging and more bragging! I feel like I’m suddenly thrown into a world much like Gossip Girl and I’m from Brooklyn.

And before you say what is Chinese New Year, allow me to elaborate.

Chinese New Year is a holiday that celebrates the beginning of a new year according to the lunar calendar. It is considered to be one of the most important holidays for Chinese families.

The holiday is celebrated with big family gatherings, gift giving, the eating of symbolic foods and display of festive decorations–all focused on bringing good luck for the new year and celebrating the coming of Spring.

Taken from Kaboose

Some common food eaten during Chinese New Year would be nian gao, a type of sticky rice cake, love letters and Bakkwa, a Chinese salty-sweet dried meat product similar to jerky. But the best part about CNY is the money I receive from the red packets. I cannot wait to indulge in a manicure on Tuesday and splurge a little at MAC. Hey, I had a stressful 2010 after all! Speaking of MAC, did you know that MAC eyeshadows have increased from $26 to $28 and lip gloss from $28 to $30 as of Feb 1st, 2011? :( Boo.

I shall stop rambling and end this blog post. Look out for more beauty posts coming up.

No Responses Yet to “A new year”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

